A science-based participative and inclusive approach to arrest biodiversity loss before 2030

In order to arrest biodiversity loss, the BIODEV2030 project proposes an innovative integration approach to diversity (and to its services provided) in the economic sectors of 16 pilot countries by involving all stakeholders in society. The preservation of biodiversity is a prerequisite of sustainable development. To achieve responsible development, limiting the pressure on and restoring deteriorated ecosystems and focusing on biodiversity must be systematic and integrated throughout the production and value chains.

The challenge: protect biodiversity

The loss of species, the erosion of their populations and the deterioration of ecosystems has continued on since 2010. One million animal and plant species are threatened with extinction. The health of the ecosystems we depend on and on which all other species depend is deteriorating at unprecedented rate today. Apart from weakening means of subsistence, food safety, health and quality of life around the world, this situation also poses economic and financial risks.

Despite their progress, the actions implemented for the conservation and more sustainable management of natural resources remain insufficient to curb the direct and indirect causes of the deterioration of the natural world. Reversing the loss of biodiversity and preserving ecosystems is urgently needed today if we are to meet the sustainable development goals by 2050. However, simply protecting certain critical areas will not be enough to preserve the biological diversity of our planet.

The solution: a sweeping integration of biodiversity to limit pressure

Safeguarding biodiversity is essential to ensure the production of vital goods and services provided by ecosystems: food, fibres, wood, carbon sequestration, water regulation, disaster risk reduction, etc.

Integration of biodiversity generally refers to ensuring that biodiversity (and the services it provides) is fully and properly included in the political and practical decisions, both public and private, that are both based on it and also have an impact on it. This integration also involves taking into account all the impacts on biodiversity and the dependencies on it encountered throughout the production and value chains.

The success of this approach requires more effort by and cooperation between all stakeholders in society :

  • State actors
  • Private sector
  • Civil society organizations
  • Indigenous peoples
  • Local communities
  • Citizens

Encouraging sectoral commitments with a multi-stakeholder dialogue

BIODEV2030 aims to tackle the causes of biodiversity loss, by encouraging all stakeholders to commit to its preservation, and by promoting voluntary initiatives based on scientific objectives. Each pilot country is invited to define its commitments aimed at reducing the pressure on biodiversity in at least two key economic sectors. Tested in 16 pilot countries, this approach contributes to the development of the post-2020 global biodiversity framework and aims to demonstrate the effectiveness of a science-based participatory and inclusive approach to achieve these ambitious objectives.

Diagnosis

A factual and scientific approach to:

  • assess the threats to biodiversity at national level;
  • analyse the potential reduction of the impacts and restoration of biodiversity for at least two key sectors of the economy of each country,
  • identify priorities for the conservation and sustainable management of diversity at sectoral and national levels

A participatory approach to facilitate multi-stakeholder dialogues and:

  • favour the emergence of a common vision and make commitments in favour of biodiversity for key sectors of the economy;
  • support the integration of sectoral commitments into national biodiversity strategies and action plans;
  • encourage the integration of sectoral commitments into the supranational commitments of the post-2020 agenda.

An inclusive approach to support the operational implementation of these voluntary sector commitments through:

  • a community of practice based on the dissemination of knowledge, the sharing of experiences and exchanges between countries;
  • organisation of national and international workshops, generating global involvement in events such as the IUCN World Conservation Congress (3-11 September, 2021) and COP15 of the Convention on Biological Diversity (from 11 to 14 October, 2021).

Supporting 16 pilot countries

BIODEV2030 is an experimental approach implemented in 16 pilot countries with multiple socioeconomic, environmental and geographic contexts. Providing the governments of each country with the means to identify and lead, along with the private sector and civil society, profound changes in those sectors of the economy with a strategic impact on the development and on the biodiversity of the country.

Page pays de base
Burkina-Faso
Read more
Cameroon
Read more
Guinea
Read more
Republic of the Congo
Ethiopia
Read more
Gabon
Guyana
Madagascar
Read more
Mozambique
Read more
Senegal
Read more
Tunisia
Read more
Uganda
Read more
Vietnam

THE PARTNERS

FINANCING

COORDINATION

IMPLEMENTATION

Une approche participative et inclusive fondée sur la science pour enrayer le déclin de la biodiversité d’ici 2030.

Afin d’enrayer la perte de biodiversité, le projet BIODEV2030 propose une démarche innovante d’intégration de la biodiversité (et de ses services rendus) dans les secteurs économiques de 16 pays pilotes en associant tous les acteurs de la société. La préservation de la biodiversité est un prérequis au développement durable. Pour un développement responsable, limitant les pressions et restaurant les écosystèmes dégradés, la prise en compte de la biodiversité, doit être systématique et intégrée tout au long des chaînes de production et de valeur.

Le défi : sauvegarder la biodiversité

La tendance à la diminution du nombre d’espèces, à l’érosion de leurs populations ainsi qu’à la dégradation des écosystèmes se poursuit depuis 2010. Un million d’espèces animales et végétales sont menacées d’extinction. La santé des écosystèmes dont nous dépendons et dont dépendent toutes les autres espèces se dégrade aujourd’hui à une vitesse sans précédent. Au-delà d’affaiblir les moyens de subsistance, la sécurité alimentaire, la santé et la qualité de vie à travers le monde, cette situation entraîne également des risques économiques et financiers.

Malgré leur progression, les actions mises en œuvre pour la conservation et la gestion plus durable des ressources naturelles restent insuffisantes pour enrayer les causes directes et indirectes à l’origine de la dégradation de la nature. Il est aujourd’hui urgent d’inverser le déclin de la biodiversité et de préserver les écosystèmes si nous voulons atteindre les objectifs de développement durable d’ici à 2050. Or, la seule protection de certaines zones critiques ne nous permettra pas de préserver la diversité biologique de notre planète.

La solution : une intégration transversale de la biodiversité pour limiter les pressions

La sauvegarde de la biodiversité est indispensable pour assurer la production de biens et services vitaux que nous procurent les écosystèmes : nourriture, fibres, bois, séquestration carbone, régulation de l’eau, réduction des risques de catastrophes, etc.

L’intégration de la biodiversité désigne généralement le fait de s’assurer de la prise en compte pleine et adéquate de la biodiversité (et de ses services rendus) dans les décisions politiques et pratiques, à la fois publiques et privées, qui reposent et influent sur elle. Cette intégration consiste également à prendre en compte l’ensemble des incidences sur la biodiversité et des dépendances à son égard rencontrées tout au long des chaînes de production et de valeur.

La réussite de cette démarche nécessite des efforts ainsi qu’une collaboration accrue de la part de tous les acteurs de la société :

  • Acteurs étatiques
  • Secteur privé
  • Organisations de la société civile
  • Peuples indigènes
  • Communautés locales
  • Citoyens

Encourager des engagements sectoriels avec un dialogue multipartite

L’objectif de BIODEV2030 est de s’attaquer aux causes de déclin de la biodiversité, en encourageant toutes les parties prenantes à s’engager pour sa préservation, et en valorisant des initiatives volontaires s’appuyant sur des objectifs scientifiquement fondés. Chaque pays pilote est invité à formaliser des engagements ayant pour but de réduire les pressions exercées sur la biodiversité dans, au moins, deux secteurs économiques clés. Testée dans 16 pays pilotes, cette approche contribue à l’élaboration du cadre mondial pour la biodiversité de l’après-2020 et veut démontrer l’efficacité d’une démarche participative et inclusive fondée sur la science pour atteindre ces objectifs ambitieux.  

Diagnostic

Une approche factuelle et scientifique pour : 

  • évaluer les menaces sur la biodiversité au niveau national,
  • analyser le potentiel de réduction des impacts et de restauration de la biodiversité pour au moins deux secteurs clés de l’économie de chaque pays,
  • identifier les priorités de conservation et de gestion durable de la biodiversité aux niveaux sectoriel et national.

Une approche participative pour faciliter les dialogues multipartites et : 

  • favoriser l’émergence d’une vision commune et convenir d’engagements, volontaires en faveur de la biodiversité, pour des secteurs clés de l’économie
  • accompagner l’intégration des engagements sectoriels dans les stratégies et les plans d’action nationaux pour la biodiversité,
  • encourager l’intégration des engagements sectoriels dans les engagements supranationaux de l’agenda post-2020.

Une approche inclusive pour accompagner la mise en place opérationnelle de ces engagements sectoriels volontaires grâce à : 

  • une communauté de pratiques fondées sur la diffusion de connaissances, le partage d’expériences et les échanges entre pays,
  • l’organisation d’ateliers nationaux et internationaux, suscitant l’implication mondiale dans le cadre d’évènements tels que le Congrès Mondial de la Nature de l’UICN (du 3 au 11 septembre 2021) et la COP15 de la Convention sur la diversité biologique (du 11 au 14 octobre 2021).

Accompagner 16 pays pilotes

BIODEV2030 est une approche expérimentale mise en œuvre dans 16 pays pilotes aux contextes socioéconomiques, environnementaux et géographiques multiples. Apporter aux gouvernements de chacun des pays les moyens d’identifier et d’engager, conjointement avec le secteur privé et la société civile, des mutations profondes dans les secteurs de l’économie ayant une incidence stratégique sur le développement et sur la biodiversité du pays.

Guinée
Voir plus
Page pays de base
Bénin
Voir plus
Burkina-Faso
Voir plus
Cameroun
Voir plus
République du Congo
Éthiopie
Voir plus
Gabon
Guyana
Madagascar
Voir plus
Mozambique
Voir plus
Sénégal
Voir plus
Tunisie
Voir plus
Ouganda
Voir plus
Vietnam

LES PARTENAIRES

FINANCEMENT

COORDINATION

MISE EN ŒUVRE