Burkina-Faso

By 2030, Burkina Faso aims to create strong and inclusive growth for the structural transformation of its economy,.

Governance

Nationwide mobilization

Launch workshop

15 and 16 October 2020

Royal Beach Hotel in Ouagadougou

Meeting over two days, stakeholders of all backgrounds drew up the strategic approaches to ensure the success of BIODEV2030 in Burkina Faso based on Dr Oueda’s methodological approach, to assess the state of biodiversity and the threats to it, by examining and approving the constitutive texts of the multi-sectoral working group regarding the integration of biodiversity into the heart of Burkina Faso’s economic sectors.

Burkina-reunion lancement
Launch workshop held on 15 and 16 October 2020 in the hall of the Royal Beach Hotel in Ouagadougou.

Diagnosis

The challenge: to restore and adopt sustainable practices to preserve soils and biodiversity

Located in sub-Saharan Africa, Burkina Faso has different ecological zones with a tropical climate that alternates between a dry and a rainy season. Irrigated by three tributaries of the Volta and by two international river systems, the river Niger and the river Comoé, the country is nevertheless still vulnerable to droughts and water shortages. It also has a number of dams and dykes to meet the water requirements of the urban population and irrigate crops during the dry season.

Burkina Faso’s different ecosystems provide habitats for a large number of species. However, they are extremely fragmented and subject to growing pressure from man, especially on land resources due to the increase in population density (urbanisation) and growth which are leading to increasing deforestation, the fragmentation of the habitat and overgrazing.

The threatened species and highly biodiversified habitats are mostly confined to the protected areas, as elsewhere in West Africa. The lion, the leopard, the elephant, the buffalo, the warthog, the antelope, the monkey, the hyena, the jackal, the hippopotamus, the crocodile, the boa, the varan, turtles and hedgehogs are among the typical species found in Burkina Faso. Other threats, such as uncontrolled bush fires, erosion by wind and water and the loss of the soil’s nutritive components are also affecting the local biodiversity.

In view of the current pressures on soils, flora and fauna, increasing the coverage of official protected areas for medium and large vertebrates is being considered, in order to slow up the loss of biodiversity in the country.

1.647 species

assessed (including 3 endemic ones)

48 species

threatened (including 3 endemic) according to the IUCN Red List (2021-1)

THE BIGGEST THREATS WORLDWIDE

Climate change – drought
Agriculture – annual and perennial non-timber cultivation
Use of biological resources – hunting and trapping of wild animals
Pollution – Agricultural and forestry effluents

Key points

The restoration of habitats has a particularly high potential for the survival of the species in the country. 

Therefore, ecological restoration actions through the targeted reduction of threats from livestock rearing, non-timber annual and perennial crops (cash crops in particular) and from agricultural effluents have significant potential to reverse anthropic pressure on biodiversity in Burkina Faso.

These results are the scientific basis for the stakeholder meetings to select the 3 engagement areas.

  • Agriculture: cotton cash crop
  • Livestock rearing
  • Mining sector

Report – Burkina-Faso national biodiversity threat assessment (FR)

Video – Speech by Simeon Sawadogo, Minister of the Environment of Burkina-Faso (FR)

Access to all documentary resources of burkina-faso

Burkina-Faso

À horizon 2030, Le Burkina Faso vise à créer une croissance forte et inclusive par la transformation structurelle de son économie. Soumis aux contraintes du changement climatique qui fragilisent la biodiversité et dépendant de ressources naturelles limitées, le Burkina Faso prévoit de renforcer la durabilité de son économie, notamment dans le secteur agricole, qui emploie près de 80% de la population active burkinabé.

Gouvernance

Une mobilisation nationale

Atelier de lancement

15 et 16 octobre 2020

Royal Beach Hôtel de Ouagadougou

Réunis sur deux jours, des acteurs de tous horizons ont pu formuler les orientations stratégiques pour la réussite de BIODEV2030 au Burkina Faso en s’appuyant sur l’approche méthodologique du Dr Oueda, pour l’évaluation de l’état de la biodiversité et de ses menaces, ainsi qu’en examinant et approuvant les textes constitutifs du groupe de travail multisectoriel concernant l’intégration de la biodiversité au coeur des secteurs économiques du Burkina Faso. 

Burkina-reunion lancement
Atelier de lancement organisé les 15 et 16 octobre 2020 dans la salle du Royal Beach Hôtel de Ouagadougou.

Diagnostic

L’enjeu : restaurer et adopter des pratiques durables pour préserver les sols et la biodiversité

Pays enclavé d’Afrique subsaharienne, le Burkina Faso compte différentes zones écologiques au climat tropical alternant saison sèche et saison pluvieuse. Irrigué par trois affluents de la Volta ainsi que par deux systèmes fluviaux internationaux, le fleuve Niger et le fleuve Comoé, le pays n’en reste pas moins vulnérable aux sécheresses et aux pénuries d’eau. Il s’est d’ailleurs doté de nombreux barrages et digues pour répondre aux besoins en eau de la population urbaine et permettre l’irrigation des cultures pendant la saison sèche.

Les différents écosystèmes du Burkina Faso fournissent des habitats à un très grand nombre d’espèces. Cependant ces derniers sont extrêmement fragmentés et soumis à une pression humaine croissante, notamment celles exercées sur les ressources foncières par l’augmentation de la densité de population (urbanisation) et la croissance qui se traduisent par une déforestation accrue, la fragmentation de l’habitat et le surpâturage.

Les espèces menacées et habitats hautement biodiversifiés sont pour la plupart confinés dans des zones protégées, comme ailleurs en Afrique de l’Ouest. Le lion, le léopard, l’éléphant, le buffle, le phacochère, l’antilope, le singe, la hyène, le chacal, l’hippopotame, le crocodile, le boa, le varan, les tortues et les hérissons comptent parmi les espèces emblématiques présentes au Burkina Faso.

Compte tenu des pressions actuelles sur les sols, la faune et la flore, la question de l’augmentation de la couverture des aires protégées officielles pour les vertébrés moyens et grands se pose, afin d’endiguer le déclin de la biodiversité burkinabé.

1.647 espèces

évaluées (dont 3 endémiques)

48 espèces

et 3 endémiques sont menacées selon la Liste Rouge de l’UICN (2021-1)

Les points clés retenus :

La restauration des habitats montre un potentiel particulièrement intéressant pour la survie des espèces dans le pays. 

Ainsi, des actions de restauration écologique appuyées par la réduction ciblée des menaces liées à l’élevage, aux cultures annuelles et pérennes non ligneuses (en particulier cultures de rente) et aux effluents agricoles et forestiers présentent un potentiel important pour renverser les pressions anthropiques sur la biodiversité du Burkina Faso.

Ces résultats sont les fondements scientifiques des réunions des parties prenantes pour choisir les 3 secteurs d’engagement.

  • Culture et rente du coton
  • Élevage
  • Secteur minier

Accéder à toutes les ressources documentaires du burkina-faso